top of page

South African History !X

Kyle Shepherd: piano, Xaru, alto sax, vocals; Buddy Wells: tenor sax; Shane Cooper: double bass; Jonno Sweetman: drums. Also featuring Zim Ngqawana – tenor sax on “Slave Labour”. All compositions, arrangements and poetry by Kyle Shepherd except “Xan do do (with piano Improvisation)” – “Xan Do Do” written by Pops Mohammed and Thobi Tietie, arranged by Kyle Shepherd, published by Peermusic (Pty) Ltd, and “Bobbejaan/Minstrels go to Court” – Traditional / Kyle Shepherd. Kyle Shepherd’s music is published by Dr. Doctor Music [admin Africa: Sheer Publishing].

  1. Xam Premonitions (Cape Genesis, Movement 1)

  2. Tshawe

  3. Langarm

  4. Xan do do (with piano Improvisation)

  5. Sound Portrait of a Modern African Man

  6. Song for Theo

  7. Bibliography of Bondage

  8. Slave Labour (Cape Genesis, Movement 2)

  9. Dark Cities

  10. Buddy’s Well of Beauty

  11. Bobbejaan / Minstrels Go to Court

  12. Cape Flats Lament (Cape Genesis, Movement 2)

  13. Images of You

℗2012 South Africa © fineART Music, under exclusive license to Sheer Sound (part of the Gallo Record Company) Recorded & Mixed at Sun Studios, University of Stellenbosch Recording Engineer: Gerhard Roux / Sun Studios Mastering: Tim Lengfeld / TL Mastering Design: Sara C.F. de Gouveia Photography: Ference Isaacs

47 views0 comments


bottom of page